top of page
Search
  • cesdehederno

Download Books On Kindle For Mac in Minutes: Tips and Tricks



Irrespective of whether you own a Kindle device or whether you buy Kindle books to read on your phone, one thing that we all want to do at some point in time (when we have a big enough library of books), is figure out how to get your Kindle books to a computer!




How To Download Books On Kindle For Mac



Kindle cloud reader is basically an online version of your Kindle. It allows you to access books in your library, and read the books. The Kindle cloud reader works just like Kindle in that it syncs your latest read position in a book across all your devices.


The biggest advantage of using the Kindle for PC/Mac application is that it works exactly like a Kindle but for a computer. You can download books just as you would on a Kindle device, and access or read the books even when the computer is not connected to the internet!


Once the application is downloaded, install the software as you normally would install any other software. Run through the installation wizard. Once the installation is complete, move to the next step.


Once you have logged in, wait for the application to sync. After that, you will see all the books from your Kindle library appear. Simply click on any one book to download it to your computer and start reading!


One thing to remember (as I mentioned earlier in the article), you will only be able to access the books that you just transferred as long as you log in to the account that you used for purchasing the books.


Have you ever found a book you really wanted to read, but the Kindle format was not supported on your Mac device? Did you ever download a book from Amazon but were confused about how it could be viewed on your computer? If you relate to the above, then the solution to your problem is Kindle to PDF converter for Mac.


If you wish to read your Kindle files on your Mac devices, then the easiest way is to convert Kindle to a PDF format. Books downloaded through Kindle are in MOBI or AZW formats, which can only be viewed using special software. So, to make things easy, we will give you a step-by-step guide on how to convert Kindle to PDF on Mac.


With everything set up, all you need to do is add the Kindle books that you downloaded from Amazon to your Calibre library. If you configured it correctly, the ebook DRM removal will happen automatically.


What did you think of our guide to free Kindle DRM removal? Did it give you a clear idea of how to remove DRM for Kindle books, or does the process seem too convoluted and cumbersome? Is there another piece of software you like that supports removing DRM from Kindle books? Let us know in the comments below. Thank you for reading.


What I then found I needed to do was change the name of the folder that has your kindle books in and create a new one of the original name. Now when you open Kindle PC it will not see any of your books, so you will need to download them into this new folder. Now transfer those new files into Calibre and, for me at least, the DRM was removed.


Worked for me, downloaded the Book directly from Amazon (the file size was way bigger then the AZW and KFX present on the device itself. Calibre must be 32 bits v4.23.0. DeDRM 6.8.1. The downloaded file is addressed to the Kindle eReader, so it works probably because of this (DeDRM has the Kindle key from its Serial).


I used the current version of Calibre, installed the Apprentice Alf plugin and added KFX input plugin. For the Alf plugin I customized it and chose the first option for kindle readers and put in my kindle serial number. I downloaded the file from my orders section of amazon and it converted just fine. This was after trying multiple ways including using old version of software on my MacBook.


Was able to have it work for my small selection of books, I was using latest Calibre 6.8, and DeDRM 7.2.1The key for me is I needed to do as Calibre suggested, download the books from amazon website for usb transfer, then was able to decrypt those[azw3 & azw files), was not able to decrypt .kfx I pulled directly from my device directly (Huge size difference 5090 KB vs 774kb).Very nice to free up my purchases and port over to my nook, thankyou all for the continuous feedback or I would have given up.


Following the instructions I downloaded DeDRM plugin and installed it in the Calibre 6.11 for MacOS Ventura 13. However, when I get to Customize Plugin, Calibre crashes. Repeatedly.Do I have to install Calibre 4.23 in order to work? Any other suggestion?


One of the many advantages of using a Windows 10 PC is that you have numerous apps to do tasks on your computer. Whether the official Microsoft Store or other websites, a countless apps that you can download and use on your computer. One of these apps is Calibre, in addition to being an eBook manager, you can convert your Kindle eBooks to PDF format.


Calibre has originally been an eBook reader, you can use it to view or manage all your digital books on your various devices. With the software including the option to convert your books, you can now convert almost any eBook type, including Kindle eBooks, to the PDF format. There are several other output formats to choose from in case you do not wish to use PDF.


Step 2. Once you have added your eBook to the app, it will appear in the list of eBooks. Click on the eBook that you wish to convert to PDF in the list, and then click the "Convert books" option at the top.


Step 3. Click the button that says "Convert." The app then uploads your file to the server, converts the file to the chosen output format, downloads the converted file back to the computer, and then displays a message saying the files are converted.


You might prefer a web-based app if all you are looking to do is convert Kindle eBooks to PDF online. Using an online Kindle converter, you can save yourself from the hassle of downloading and installing an app on your Mac.


Once the download is complete, click Open in the App Store to open the Kindle for Mac app, or you can navigate to your Mac Applications folder and click Kindle in there.


A progress bar will appear, but not for long: ebooks download quickly. Kindle for Mac will open the book for you right away, and you can start reading or click the Library button to head back and download more ebooks.


Downloaded ebooks will show a checkmark on their cover in your Kindle for Mac library, along with a percentage completed tracker. They will also appear in the Downloaded section of the Library list.


You can find (and change) the location of your books in the general preferences. Simply choose Preferences from the Kindle menu. In the General tab, you can find an entry Content Folder and a button to change it.


I have owned my Kindle paperwhite for a year but I have recently started having problems downloading books. In the past I have always downloaded books to my Mac and then transferred to my Kindle via usb. However, in the past month or so some books download properly, but some do not. When the books download properly they have a .awz file name, e.g. Alice in Wonderland.awz but for the books that don't download, they either just download as FSDownload (no title at all) or sometimes the title of the book but no .awz e.g. just as Alice in Wonderland.


I suspect it might have something to do with my software because when I tried downloading the same books on a PC, they showed up fine with the .awz file. I think this problem coincides with when I installed Mavericks.


Thanks so much for this. I'll give it a go using Chrome. I have managed to download the problem books on a computer with Mozilla so maybe it is a Safari issue. It's hard to tell though because I can sign in and buy books three or four different times and all the books will download fine and then suddenly it'll start happening again. Super annoying!


Today I discovered I'm having the same issues... I own an older version Kindle and always buy online, download to my Mac and then transfer the file by USB. However today I tried for 3 books and the first one was not a problem. The 2 others would not download with the correct file - its just an empty page with the title FSDownloadContent.


3. I downloaded the latest version of Kindle for Mac (Department: Kindle>Kindle Free Reading Apps>...) and followed the install directions. (btw, I learned that Amazon has no system for alerting us to app upgrades!! Hard to believe with all the account info they have.)


7. I went to the Archives where it was still listed (I didn't need to resend it to the Kindle for Mac app but perhaps that would be a needed step for some). I clicked on the title, it downloaded and...ta da...the book OPENED.


HOWEVER, it lets me open the books on my computer using Kindle for Mac but still won't let me transfer it with a working file to my actual kindle! So not a great fix since I want to read the kindle not my computer on the beach!


Kindle's filing system isn't particularly tidy. It consists of three key folders called audible, music and documents. The first two contain your audiobooks and MP3s, the third, 'documents', holds pretty much everything else, including downloaded books, text files, PDFs and screen grabs. You can capture your Kindle's screen display at any time by holding shift and alt while briefly pressing 'G' on its keyboard. Grabs are saved in .gif format and given the prefix 'screen_shot'.


This isolated selection is your collection of downloaded books, which you can drag to another location on your computer for storage. Each will be preserved in its original format without all of the associated bookmarks. To keep track of these, be sure to also copy across any .mbp files bearing the same names as your books. 2ff7e9595c


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page